Popularity of the Underdog

As a frequent Twitter user, I’ve noticed that since Sarah Palin announced her resignation, her Twitter followers grew from an estimated 41,000 to now over 93,000.  It doesn’t matter if these followers include non-supporters.  What does matter is that someone is interested in what she has to say. This doesn’t come as a surprise to me that when Palin appears defeated, her popularity rises.

Why?  Because it happened to me.

As a  lifelong Democrat, I never cared for a Republican presidential or vice-presidential candidate.  In my liberally shallow mind, Republicans were arrogant, rich folks who didn’t give a damn about the middle class.  So when my choice for the Democrat ticket loss to Barrack Obama, my allegience turned towards him.  I laughed along when my sister showed me the Saturday Night Live clip of Tina Fey imitating Sarah Palin’s infamous Katie Couric’s interview. When the Vice-Presidential Debate was on, I was intently glued to the radio on my way home from work and to the TV when I got home just to watch the circus show.  Not knowing anything about politics, my immediate instincts told me that Joe Biden won the debate because of his air of confidence.  Little did I know that Biden’s constant laughter and smile meant admitting defeat from a sucker punch thrown by Palin.

When the show was over, I somehow felt really bad for her.  I started to wonder why in the world would John McCain pick someone so ill-prepared as his running mate.

I quickly did a Wikipedia search on her and was immediately blown away by her accomplishments and character.  Suddenly, I was on her side and rooting for a ticket I never thought in a million years I would.  For the first time in my adult life, I was going to vote Republican, a thought that made my former coworker cringe like I had the cooties.  I can now see through the lens of the conservative viewpoint and it makes so much more sense to me economically.  I saw the power that Palin had.  I saw what less than 20% of the Democrats and more than 70% of the Republicans who favored her saw – a woman who has integrity, strength, courage, charisma and most importantly, honesty.

To this day, months after the election and months after the inauguration of our country’s first African-American president, I remain a faithful, loyal supporter of Governor Sarah Palin.  I may not agree with everything she says, but I know she is not your typical politician who says one thing and does another.  She is plain-spoken, full of energy, and the closest thing to an honest politician we’ll ever get in this century.

Why not embrace such a character?  Why not embrace the “storm” that comes only once a millennium?

I am sure that more than half of those Twitter users who added Palin to their following list over the July 4th holiday weekend had the same revelation I had back in late October of 2008.  And it is with this revelation about her from the many hearts around the country, that can build a strong grassroots movement to get her elected, if she so chooses, as America’s first female president.

Leave a Reply

